Community Action Partnership of Mid-Nebraska is conducting a community needs assessment for its 27-county service area throughout southwest Nebraska.

This process is conducted every three years to determine underlying causes and conditions of poverty within each community and to identify available resources in each community to address these unmet needs.

The Community Action Partnership mailed 1,000 community needs assessment surveys on Feb. 1 via a list of randomly sampled addresses throughout the service area.

The organization is also distributing surveys to community partners and stakeholders.

People who receive a survey are asked to fill it out and return it in the self-addressed, stamped envelope provided.

People with questions about the community needs assessment can contact Planning Director Kristin Remm, 308-865-1354 ext. 108, or visit the main office at 16 W. 11th St., Kearney.

Community Action Partnership of Mid-Nebraska’s service area includes these Nebraska counties: Adams, Arthur, Buffalo, Chase, Clay, Dawson, Dundy, Franklin, Frontier, Furnas, Gosper, Grant, Harlan, Hayes, Hitchcock, Hooker, Kearney, Keith, Lincoln, Logan, McPherson, Nuckolls, Perkins, Phelps, Red Willow, Thomas and Webster, as well as two in Kansas: Phillips and Norton.