Lincoln County Board Chairman Joe Hewgley has been recognized as “Outstanding County Board Member of the Year” by the Nebraska Association of County Officials.

He is the first recipient of the NACO award. The award recognizes Hewgley’s involvement and leadership in the county, in NACO and in policy at the state level.

Former Lincoln County Commissioner Duane Deterding said Hewgley is well deserving of the award, touting Hewgley’s knowledge and experience.

Hewgley was appointed to the board in 1985 to fill the remainder of the term of Bill Hord, who had resigned. Hewgley was then elected for the first time in 1986 and has been reelected eight times. He has served as chairman of the county board several times and president of NACO’s West Central District. He has given many years of service as a NACO board member and was board president in 1998 and 2008.

Larry Dix, executive director of NACO, said that when they were considering nominations for the award, “Joe’s name rose right to the top.”

Dix said an important qualification was Hewgley’s willingness to share his expertise with governing boards of other counties, “no matter how small.”

“That has always amazed me,” Dix said. “Numerous times I have seen Joe sit down with those counties” and serve as a mentor.

Hewgley has an excellent working relationship with state Sen. Mike Groene of North Platte, Dix said, and is a resource in the legislative process as it involves county government. He has also served on various statewide policy boards and is currently a member of the Nebraska Crime Commission.

Recommended for you