Nebraska teens earn their way to National High School Rodeo Finals

Gus Franzen of Kearney won the Nebraska high school steer wrestling title. The 2019 Kearney High School graduate will attend Southeastern Oklahoma State University in Durant, Oklahoma, this fall and rodeo collegiately.

The Nebraska high school rodeo season wrapped up over the weekend with the high school finals at the Adams County Fairgrounds in Hastings.

Rodeo athletes from across the Cornhusker State competed in two go-rounds on Thursday and Friday, and the short go-round on Saturday. The top four contestants in each of the 14 events were determined, and will go on to compete at the National High School Finals Rodeo on July 14-20 in Rock Springs, Wyoming.

National High School Finals Rodeo qualifiers

Bareback riding

Champion: Gauge McBride, Kearney

2. Spencer Denaeyer, Seneca

3. Brody Benson, Valentine

4. Edward Daly, Paxton

No alternate


Boys cutting

Champion: Sage Konicek, Ord

2. Cody Miller, Broken Bow

3. Kaine Stokey, Sutherland

4. Frazier Kaelin, Ansley

Alternate: Colton Storer, Arthur


Girls cutting

Champion: Concey Bader, Palmer

2. Faith Storer, Arthur

3. Maddie Stump, Elsmere

4. Ashton Troyer, West Point

Alternate: Kesha DeGroff


Bull riding

Champion: Conner Halverson, Gordon

2. Mason Ward, North Platte

3. Gauge McBride, Kearney

4. Teran Sharman, Palmer

Alternate: Dodge Daniels, Scotia


Goat tying

Champion: Riata Day, Fleming, Colorado

2. Bailey Witt, Valentine

3. Wacey Day, Fleming, Colorado

Alternate: Mataya Eklund, Valentine


Tie-down roping

Champion: Grant Turek, St. Paul

2. Cameron Jensen, Bingham

3. Rhett Witt, Valentine

4. Justin Chasek, Mitchell

Alternate: Grant Lindsley, Osceola


Saddle bronc riding

Champion: Sage Miller, Springview

2. Brody McAbee, Ansley

3. Nathan Burnett, Shelton

4. Jack Skavdahl, Marsland

Alternate: Gus Franzen, Kearney


Barrel racing

Champion: Jenae Whitaker, Chambers

2. Elle Ravenscroft, Nenzel

3. Summer Richardson, Kearney

4. Madison Mills, Eddyville

Alternate: Ashley Odenbach, Taylor


Breakaway roping

Champion: Mataya Eklund, Valentine

2. Emma Ohm, Hyannis

3. Brooke McCully, Mullen

4. Wacey Day, Fleming, Colorado

Alternate: Shayda Vaughn


Pole bending

Champion: Madison Mills, Eddyville

2. Halli Haskell, Ainsworth

3. Riata Day, Fleming, Colorado

4. Mataya Eklund, Valentine

Alternate: Adeline Hobbs, Mitchell


Steer wrestling

Champion: Gus Franzen, Kearney

2. Cauy Porkorny, Stapleton

3. Sage Miller, Springview

4. Quade Potter, Cambridge

Alternate: Evan Hewett, Dunning


Team roping

Champions: Cameron Jensen, Bingham, and Tyler Whetham, Henry

2. Colten Storer, Sutherland, and Lane Chasek, Mitchell

3. Cauy Porkorny, Stapleton, and Clay Holz, Niobrara

4. Cooper Bass, Brewster, and Zack Bradley, Brewster

Alternates: Ashley Odenbach, Taylor and Cole Dwyer, Burwell


Reined cow horse

Champion: Tatum Olson

2. Colten Storer, Sutherland

3. Cooper Bass, Brewster

4. Hope Brosius, Hyannis

Alternate: Shailey McAbee, Hyannis


Trap Shooting

Champion: Jack Skavdahl, Marsland

2. Keo Wever, North Platte

3. Thayne Kimbrough

4. Evan Hewett, Dunnng

Alternate: Ruger Wells


Rifle Shooting

Champion: Andrea Meyer, Stapleton

2. Jate Saults, Big Springs

3. Ralph Saults, Big Springs

4. Samuel Florell, Kearney

Alternate: Kayln Nielson

Get the top daily Headlines from the North Platte Telegraph

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Recommended for you